What are green muscles?

Mussels with green shells are farmed mussels exclusively and subject to strict regulation. Water quality is of the utmost importance due to how they feed, and all shellfish-producing waters belonging to New Zealand are carefully monitored. They’re slightly larger than other families of mussels.