How do you prepare fresh thyme?

A simple, fast and effective method for thyme prep is to use a cheese grater or similar object that has holes just large enough for a thyme stem, pulling each stem through a hole to separate the leaves from the stem. The leaves can then be used as is, chopped roughly or finely, crushed, etc.