What species did humans evolve from?

Modern humans, called Homo sapiens, evolved from earlier human species over hundreds of thousands of years. Modern humans first evolved in Africa, from earlier species named Homo Erectus, Homo Habalis, and Homo heidelbergensis, among others. Our exact lineage is not yet clear.