Is carry on one word?

Carry-on is not one word. It is the words Carry and On, separated by a hyphen. Carry-on refers to luggage taken with you on the plane for air travel. Two separate words, carry...on, mean to continue as you were.

---

Carry on is two words of used is a verb or carry-on is one with when used as a noun. For example, "The gate agent asked me to carry on since my carry-on was to large!"