What was the imperial crisis?

The Crisis of the Third Century, known as Military Anarchy or the Imperial Crisis (AD 235–284), was a period which the Roman Empire nearly collapsed. It ended due to the military victories of Aurelian and with the ascension of Diocletian and implementation of reforms in 284, including the Tetrarchy.