What was the polo grounds?

The Polo Grounds is the location where several NYC sports teams once played and sits between Coogan's Bluff and the Harlem River above 155th St. in Manhattan. It served as the home to the NY Giants baseball team, and was the first home to the Yankees, the Mets, and the NY Giants football team.