How long do germs last on hard surfaces?

There are many different kinds of germs. It is estimated the flu can survive on surfaces from a few minutes up to 24 hours. Colds can sometimes survive on surfaces for more than 7 days, but infection reduces rapidly after 24 hours. Common bacteria survive 1 to 4 hours, with others lasting 5 months.