What is the term mean as the crow flies?

The phrase "as the crow flies" is an idiom meaning the most direct path between two points. This meaning first appeared in the early 19th century in Charles Dickens's novel Oliver Twist: "We cut over the fields at the back with him between us – straight as the crow flies – through hedge and ditch."