Why is the space needle called the space needle?

The idea for Needle was first doodled on a napkin or placemat by Seattle hotel executive Edward “Eddie” Carlson during a visit to Stuttgart, Germany in 1959. He saw the potential of a Space Age tower as a symbol for the 1962 fair and the Seattle skyline.