How long does it take to change brake pads?

Usually, changing a set of brake pads takes approximately 30 minutes to an hour. If you have a professional complete the work, expect to pay for about an hour's worth of labor. If you DIY this project, it could take you upwards of 3 or 4 hours (maybe even longer) to replace your brake pads.