What's the difference between refined coconut oil and unrefined coconut oil?

The coconut in coconut oil is baked prior to the oil being extracted. The resulting oil is a clear mild-tasting oil. With unrefined coconut oil the oil is extracted from fresh coconuts. This makes unrefined the purest form available. With less refinement there is more coconut flavor & nutrients.

---

Coconuts are baked before the refined coconut oil is extracted, then bleached by filtering through clay. Unrefined coconut oil is not baked first, and is clarified with a centrifuge.