How do you get rust off metal?

Dust with baking soda (it will stick to the damp areas), making sure to cover all rusty areas. Leave the item for an hour or so, then scour with steel wool or a metal brush, removing the rust down to the metal. (If cleaning a pan, use a scouring pad.) Rinse, and towel dry.