What does e. m. c. square stand for?

Albert Einstein’s, 1905, theory of special relativity, equation E=MC squared, was a very important development in the field of physics. Special relativity explains how speed affects mass, time, and space. In his theory, the speed of light defines the relationship between energy (E) and mass (M).