What does the t. in james t. kirk stand for?

The "T" in James T. Kirk is his middle name, Tiberius.

---

His mother originally proposed the name Tiberius Kirk. But his father said, quote, No! You Kidding me? That's the worst! unquote. So instead, that became his middle name. James, Tiberius, Kirk. Better known as Captain James T Kirk.