What are hot cuts?

The term "Hot Cut" is used in the local exchange industry to describe the near-simultaneous disconnection of a Verizon working loop from a port on one carrier's switch, and the reconnection of that loop to a port on a different carrier's switch, without any significant out-of-service period.