What's the difference between medium roast and dark roast coffee?

The type of roast refers to how long and at what temperature the coffee beans have been roasted, affecting the taste of the coffee. A medium roast produces a slightly acidic taste while keeping the original character of the coffee. A dark roast will be less acidic, but have an underlying burnt taste

---

Dark roast coffee has a darker color and richer taste than medium or light roast, and it's less acidic. Also, light roasts retain some of the flavor characteristics of the original coffee bean, while darker roasts do not. Medium roast is considered a balance between the two.