What's the difference between medium roast and dark roast coffee?

The type of roast refers to how long and at what temperature the coffee beans have been roasted, affecting the taste of the coffee. A medium roast produces a slightly acidic taste while keeping the original character of the coffee. A dark roast will be less acidic, but have an underlying burnt taste

---

As coffee roasts get darker, they lose the original flavors of the beans and take on flavor from the roasting process. Lighter roasts have more acidity. Light roasted beans are dry, while darker roasts develop oil on the bean surface. The caffeine level decreases as the roast gets darker.