How to cook old-fashioned oats?

On the stove, Simmer oats for 10-20 minutes (depending on preferred consistency). Stir occasionally. Cover and remove from heat and let stand a few minutes. In the microwave, combine 1/2 cup oats and 1 cup water. Cover and microwave on high for 3-5 minutes. Let stand for 2 minutes.