Who invented tie dye?

Tie-dye was first introduced to the United States by Columbia University professor Charles E. Pellow in 1909. The earliest written records about tie-dye come from China and Japan. The process was used during the T'ang Dynasty in China and the Nara Period in Japan as far back as the 6th century.