Why didnt the united states join the league of nations?

The United States never joined the League of Nations, because President Wilson was unable to convince Senate Republicans, led by Henry Cabot Lodge, to vote in support of ratification. Lodge viewed the covenants of the League as a threat to Congress retaining the sole US authority to declare war.