What's the difference between calzones and stromboli?

The major difference between a calzone and a stromboli is how they are sealed. You seal a stromboli by rolling it in a spiral & folding some extra dough back over the stromboli. Both get an egg wash to make sure the dough stays out. Calzones, sliced in half, are smaller & shaped like half-circles.