What shape pants does spongebob have?

As his name implies, SpongeBob has square pants. However, the pants themselves have a rectangular shape as they only cover the lower half of SpongeBob's cartoon body. Besides, I don't think " SpongeBob Rectangular"pants would sound as catchy in the opening song. That's called Artistic Liscence.