What does it mean when a cats pupils are thin?

The pupils react to the amount of light present. When there is little light, the pupils will open widely. When there is a bright light, the pupils will constrict to being closed. Human eyes work the same way. The difference is simply the geometry as the pupils on a cat's eye is not circular.