How often should you cut a dog's toenails?

It depends on how long your pup's toenail quick is. If the quick is short, which is ideal, dogs' nails only need to be trimmed every 1-2 months or as needed to keep short. A dogs nails should not click while walking. To get the toenail quicks to recede, they should be trimmed every 3-7 days.