What is it mean when your dog's nose is dry?

It could mean many things. Dogs lick their noses to keep them moist because a wet nose gathers scent better than a dry one. Maybe you felt it before the dog licked to re-wet it. If your dog's nose is dry and it is running a temperature higher than 103 degrees Fahrenheit take your dog to the vet.