What is a cashmere christmas tree?

Cashmere is the very fine, downy wool at the end of Kashmir goat's hair. When used in the manufacture of artificial Christmas trees, the ends of the tips of the pine needles are coated with cashmere to create tiny, but fuller, "split ends" which also softens the ends of the tips.