Why can't you sneeze with your eyes open?

The idea that one cannot sneeze with opened eyes is a myth. Sneezing itself causes involuntary reflexes in facial and breathing muscles. While most people will close their eyes reflexively when they sneeze, it is possible, with focus, to keep them open. Gesundheit!