How do you toast chestnuts?

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. With a serrated knife (a bread knife works great), slice a large X on the flat side of the chestnuts. Place scored chestnuts on a baking sheet with the X facing up. Remove from oven and place a kitchen towel over the pan allowing them to steam slightly for 15 minutes