Do goldfish need a heater?

No, most goldfish do not need a tank heater. Common goldfish can withstand water temperatures as low as 65°F, and as high as 80°F. However, to help your goldfish grow to his full potential, a constant tank temperature of 72°F is ideal. Good luck with your little orange pal!