Who made the first blimp?

HENRI GIFFARD. The first successful airship was constructed by Henri Giffard of France in 1852.Giffard built a 160-kilogram (350-pound) steam engine capable of developing 3 horsepower, sufficient to turn a large propeller at 110 revolutions per minute.