How rare is it to have freckles?

Freckles are linked to a key genetic player in regulating your skin and hair color. A gene known as MC1R controls how much of two different kinds of melanin you produce. If your MC1R gene is inactive, you'll produce more pheomelanin leading to light hair/skin, as well as a propensity for freckles.