Why do we only have one moon?

Current astronomical theory suggests that a planet can acquire a moon by one of three possible ways: It's believed that Earth got our moon through the first theory. Many scientists believe that a Mars-sized body known as Theia collided with Earth around 4.5 billion years ago.