Why is macaroni called macaroni?

Macaroni comes from the Italian word maccheroni, which was adopted from the ancient Greek word "makaria", meaning food from barley. However, in England, macaroni came to be slang for dissolute fop and ultimately a derogatory slang for Italians. Today it is known as a pasta. Mac and cheese please!YUM