Where is the royal mile?

Edinburgh's Royal Mile slopes down from Edinburgh Castle on Castle Rock to the Palace of Holyrood House in the shadow of the mountains of Holyrood Park. Along the way, the route follows the eastern ridge of an extinct volcano - one of several in Scotland's capital.