How long does it take for your nails to grow?

Nails grow at an average rate of 3.47 mm a month. That is about 1 and a half tenths of an inch. So, if you lose a nail, it can take 6 months to regrow. The nails on your dominant hand grow faster, as do the ones on your longer fingers.