How many gallons does a dishwasher use?

On average, a standard dishwasher uses 10 gallons of water for every load. However, dishwashers made after 2013 have their water consumption capped at 5 gallons for each load, with energy-efficient models like the Whirlpool dishwashers, which are Energy-Star-rated, using as little as 3 gallons