Is there a difference between a rabbit and a hare?

Hares and rabbits are similar in their size, form and herbivorous diets, but hares generally have longer ears and live solitarily or in pairs. Also hares are able to fend for themselves shortly after birth in a nest called a form, whereas rabbits are born blind and hairless in a burrow.