What is in epsom salt?

Epsom salt is also known as magnesium sulfate. It's a chemical compound made up of magnesium, sulfur, and oxygen. It gets its name from the town of Epsom in Surrey, England, where it was discovered. Epsom salt is a completely different compound than table salt and tastes distinctly different.