Where did the ninja turtles come from?

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles were created by Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird and first appeared in a comic book they produced in 1984. The Ninja Turtles have since appeared in TV shows, movies, video games and in merchandise and licensed media.