Where does the sidewalk ends?

Where the Sidewalk Ends, by Shel Silverstein, is a three-stanza poem that depicts the adult world as something harsh and demanding, in contrast to a more childlike mentality that can provide a break from the responsibilities and pressures of being an adult.