Who is the fastest runner in the u. s.?

Tyson Gay (born August 9, 1982) is an American track and field sprinter who competes in the 100 and 200 meters dash. His 100 m personal best of 9.69 seconds is the American record and makes him tied for the second fastest athlete ever.