How long does it take for light to get to the earth from the sun?

Sunlight travels at the speed of light. Photons emitted from the surface of the Sun need to travel across the vacuum of space to reach our eyes. The short answer is that it takes sunlight an average of 8 minutes and 20 seconds to travel from the Sun to the Earth.

---

Sunlight gets to earth from the sun in an average of 8 minutes and 20 seconds.