What's a algebra?

Algebra is the part of mathematics that helps represent problems or situations in the form of mathematical expressions.

---

Algebra is a form of mathematics. In Algebra, typically a formula is described as y being a function of x. For example, y equals 2 x. If x equals 2 they y equals 4. Algebra uses algebraic notation and has rules for how the order of mathematical operations occur to derive the correct answer.