Is blue light harmful?

Blue light exposure may increase risk of macular degeneration. The fact, that blue light penetrates all the way to the retina (the inner lining of the back of the eye) is important, as laboratory studies have shown, that too much exposure to blue light can damage light-sensitive cells in the retina.