What is the time frame of the mandalorian?

The Mandalorian takes place around 9 A.B.Y. (after the Battle of Yavin, the attack on the first Death Star) which is five years after Return of the Jedi. The events in The Force Awakens happen in 34 A.B.Y.. This puts The Mandalorian much closer to the original trilogy than the new trilogy.