Who wrote the song maybelline?

According to npr.org, Chuck Berry wrote the song Maybelline, however, it wasn't until 1986 that he was finally credited with it. He recorded the song for Chess Records back in 1955. The song was 2 minutes 18 seconds long that started a trend which embodied the sexual tensions of a 50s generation.