Who is a chimpanzee?

Chimpanzees are great apes found across central and West Africa. Along with bonobos, they are our closest living relatives, sharing 98.7 percent of our DNA. Chimpanzees & other great apes are different from monkeys in several ways, but most noticeably because they don't have tails.