Can you mix alcohol and baking soda?

Baking soda would work to neutralize acidic beverages, but since hard liquor isn’t acidic, you don’t have to worry about that effect taking place. Mixing these two substances is safe, but there’s no hard evidence for what type of effect (if any) it will have.