Who invented the graphical user interface?

In 1973, Xerox PARC developed the Alto personal computer, the first computer to demonstrate the desktop metaphor & graphical user interface (GUI). The GUI was first developed at Xerox PARC by Alan Kay, Larry Tesler, Dan Ingalls, David Smith, Clarence Ellis & a number of other researchers. wikipedia