What is the difference between baking and simmering?

Baking is a cooking method using the oven, while simmering uses a stove top.

---

Baking is in the oven. For example you bake a cake or bake cookies. Simmering is a type of cooking done on the stovetop and is cooking food that has some liquid in it on low heat. To simmer, usually you first bring the liquid to a boil and then reduce the heat to a low temperature called simmering.