How do dinosaurs get extinct?

The most widely accepted theory is that non-avian dinosaurs went extinct due to a meteor colliding with the Earth in the Yucatán peninsula. There are paleontologists however who think that disease was the cause of their extinction and the meteor simply hastened their demise.